Mom Shanti

Musings on living abroad, motherhood, yoga, and all the in betweens…

pensive sitting… August 8, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — momshanti @ 12:18 pm

The toe is still really hurting.  Fred’s grandmother, the infamous storytelling Elga, told me that now I should understand why this is one of the primary ways that torture is used.   Messing with the extremities.  OUCH.  And yikes!  Elga’s got some kind of thought process going on her little 91 year old tete, let me tell you!

I must admit, though, being stranded on the sofa has given me a chance to think about some things.  Like how I am on facebook WAY too much.  A yoga teacher that I am friends with recently said this, “…fb is not at all helpful in the practice of minding our own business…this is definitely not ‘off the trail’ behaviour…”  You know, just like your mama always told you (or mine anyway).  And it is that exactly that is seriously getting me into a funk after I scroll through people’s posts and new photos and whatnot, it’s just this false sense of connectedness.   We have the info without the connection… Not good.  That connection is what really serves us, the information is really just a minor detail.  Don’t get me wrong, when I need to advertise an event or a workshop or whatever, it’s an amazing place to get the information out there, but I am reaching the point where I seriously need to start drawing the line.  Facebook withdrawal.  We have no television (ok, no cable to be precise,) so being on the internet is really my only source of news, etc, but I am reaching a breaking point, especially in these last few days of not being able to go anywhere but internet sites.

I am also wondering how to take care of and use Echinacea plants.  I recently put a little garden in my backyard, but I haven’t a clue what to do with the lovely blooms.  We are having an English summer here, it feels, which makes for gorgeous gardens, so me planting in the middle of the summer was no probs whatsoever!  One day its 85 and the next we don’t go about 65…  I brought swim diapers with Nash to creche today in order to jinx this confusion of a summer that we have had.  And to think that in a week’s time we will be (ok, depending on the toe status) in Oslo… it doesn’t seem to go above 65 there, period!

Thankfully Nash’s daycare had an extra place for him this afternoon, so I can sit with my foot up.   He was literally squealing as we walked down the sidewalk this morning and he saw Veronique through the glass door.  I am pretty sure he loves it there, and I love that he is Mr. Social with all of his little mates there.  Creche (as its called here) has been closed for the last four weeks, and while we had fun with Sadie Nardini visiting, traipsing through Tuscany and then mending mommy’s toe (Be CAREful, Maman, I have heard more times than I can count), it was very sweet to see him so excited to be back at “school” (as I call it for my big boy.)

peace out…

 

3 Responses to “pensive sitting…”

  1. lynsey Says:

    Nat – I have been thinking about you! Did you change your blog? I used to receive it as an RSS feed and now it is telling me its not a valid address. I love reading about everything. xoxo

  2. Mani Says:

    Nat, yes connections need to be authentic.I see some inspirations people post – simple wisdom in fb that people can relate to. Social media either hinder or help us in forming meaningful authentic connections. Connection starts with attention, Be in the moment than wanting it to be “there” and make good of every moment with others by loving oneself and connection with others. Enjoyed reading your updates. cheers mani

  3. elizabeth coleman Says:

    Hey Nat! Laying in Sunny’s bed at Kiawah and checking FB! Totally agree with your point about information with no connection! Also, sorry to hear about your toe – so painful! I absolutely adore the pics of Nash! He is just adorable! xo Elizabeth (Beth)


Leave a Reply

